Hartmut Zabel received his Ph.D. from the University of Munich in 1978 on the topic of Hydrogen in Metals. He then Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Zabelspent a postdoctoral year at the University of Houston, and joined the faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1979, where he was promoted to Professor of Physics in 1986. Since 1989 he holds the Chair of Experimental Physics at the Ruhr-University of Bochum, Germany and continues to be an Adjunct Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. From 1993-1995 he was the Chairman of the Department of Physics at the Ruhr-Universität.

1985 and 1988 he was Summer Guest Scientist at the Brookhaven National Laboratory, 1986 Guest Scientist, at the Risø National Laboratory, Denmark, 1989 Fellow of the Japenese Society for the Promotion of Sciences, 1993 Guest Scientist of the National Institute of Science and Technology, Reactor Division, Gaithersburg, 1998 - 99 Guest Professor an the KTH Stockholm, Schweden, and since 2013 is Guest Professor at the Uppsala University.

1996 he was elected to Fellow of the American Physical Society, Citation: "For his seminal contributions to our understanding of the structure and dynamics of hydrogen-metal systems, graphite intercalation compounds and magnetic metallic multilayers". In 2001 he received the honorary doctoral degree from the KTH Stockholm. 2010 he was elected as “Outstanding Referee” of the American Physical Society.

Aside from the regular course teaching, Hartmut Zabel has taught at many summer schools and training centers: Since 1991 he is guest lecturer in the HERCULES Graduate Program, Grenoble; 1997, 1999, 2002 and 2010 guest lecturer at the PSI summer school, 1997 lecturer at the NATO school on Dynamical Properties of Unconventional Magnetic Properties, Geilo, 2000 guest lecturer at the Les Houches summer school on Advances in Neutron Scattering, 2000 guest lecturer at the Euro Summer School on New Materials and their Dynamics, Warnemünde, 2005 guest lecturer at the Heraeus Summer School on Spintronics in Wittenberg and at the School on Pulsed Neutron Sources:Enhancing the Capacity for Material Science, 2006 guest lecturer at HERCULES Specials Course: Surfaces, Interfaces and Nanostructures Neutron reflectivity of magnetic heterostructures; 2011 Euroschool on magnetism, 2012 MPI Schoool on Scattering Physics, 2013 HZB School on Neutron Scattering, etc.

He has given numerous invited conference talks, lectures, seminars, and colloquia all over Europe as well as in USA, Russia, China, Japan, Taiwan, Egypt, Turkey, India, and Australia. He was plenary and key note speaker at the following national and international conferences: DPG March Meeting 1990 and 2007, IVS – Shanghai 1997, ENSC Budapest 1999, BCS Brussels 2001, ESS – Bonn 2002, JCNS-Jülich 2006, SNI – Hamburg 2006, MML07 - Perth 2007, ICNM - Istanbul 2007, IUMRS - Bangalore 2007, Science Vision for ESS 2011, SXNS - Kolkata 2012, ISNS - Mumbai 2013, etc.

Hartmut Zabel organized the second international conference on “Surface x-ray and neutron scattering” 1991 in Bad-Honnef together with Ian Robinson, the WE-Heraeus-Seminar on "Nanomagnetic Structures" 1999 in Bad Honnef together with Ingrid Mertig; in June 2001 he co-chaired together with Prof. Dr. G. Güntherodt the International Symposium on "Metallic Multilayers (MML01)" in Aachen; in 2008 he co-chaired the International Symposium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (ICMFS) at the FU Berlin. Furthermore, he organized or co-organized numerous workshops on different aspects of magnetic heterostructures at the Ruhr-University Bochum.

The research of Hartmut Zabel is mainly funded through the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), the Bundesministerium für Forschung und Technologie (BMfBF), and through European Framework programs. Since January 2000 he is the speaker and chairman of the DFG funded research network on "Magnetic Heterostructures: Spin Structure and Spin Transport" (SFB 491).

The main research interests of Hartmut Zabel are in thin film physics, including hydrogen in metals, exchange coupling, spin density wave magnetism, proximity-effects between superconducting and ferromagnetic layers, oxides and oxidation of metals. The main methods employed are various forms of the magneto-optical Kerr Effect (MOKE), polarized neutron reflectivity (PNR), and x-ray resonant magnetic scattering (XRMS). He has published more than 460 research papers in the above mentioned fields and has provided overviews on special topics in a number of review articles. He is Co-Editor of five books, he authored the textbook "Kurzlehrbuch Physik" (Thieme Verlag) and together with Prof. B. Gil (formerly Prof. H. Morkoc) he is the Chief-Editor of the Journal “Superlattices and Microstructures”.

Since 1. October 2013 Hartmut Zabel has retired from his chair in Experimental Physics/Condensed Matter Physics at the Ruhr-University Bochum. At the same time he was awarded with Guest Professorships at the Uppsala University and the University of Mainz where he will continue his teaching and research activities.

Present and past memberships in committees and offices during the last 10 years (selection):
Spokesperson, SFB491 (chair) - until 2011
Acting chair of the Institute for Experimental Physics, Ruhr-University Bochum, 2008-2010
National Committee on Condensed Matter Research (chair) - until 2008
National Committee on Neutron Investigations (member) - until 2011
Scientific Council, Hahn-Meitner Institut (vice-chair) - until 2009
Scientific Council, Institut Laue-Langevin (chair) - until 2010
Steering committee, Institut Laue-Langevin (member) - until 2010
Beam time committee BESSY and HZB (member) - until 2011
Scientific Council Dynamitron Tandem Accelerator, Bochum (chair) - since 2006
Committee on Magnetism of the DFG (member) - until 2012
Chief-Editor of Journal "Superlattices and Microstructures", Elsevier - 2003 - 2013
Scientic Advisory Committee CINST, Kassel (Member) - until present
Scientific Advisory Committee, Nanostructured Materials, Halle (Member) - until present
German - Isrealien Foundation, Scientific Science Advisor - until 2012
DOE Materials Science Review Panel - until 2011
Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials, Board Member - until present
BMBF - Verbundforschung, Review panel, Photons, Neutrons and Ions (Vice Chair) - until 2012
Physical Review Letters, Divisional Associate Editor - 2012 - 2014
Member of the Evaluation Committee for Sientific Achievements and Merits in NRW, 2013 - 2016

Short Cv Zabel 5-2013